Press Release ● Fiscal Responsibilityfacebooktwitterbirdemail
For Immediate Release: 
February 26, 2010
Contact Info: 
Katie Grant
Stephanie Lundberg
(202) 225 - 3130

WASHINGTON, DC – House Majority Leader Steny H. Hoyer (MD) released the following statement today after President named members to the bipartisan National Commission on Fiscal Responsibility and Reform:
“Today, President Obama named four members to the bipartisan National Commission on Fiscal Responsibility and Reform, which is charged with the crucial national goal of developing recommendations to return our budget to balance. President Obama appointed David Cote, Chairman, CEO, and President of Honeywell; Ann Fudge, former chairman and CEO of  Young & Rubicam Brands; Alice Rivlin, senior fellow at the Brookings Institution, former Vice Chair of the Federal Reserve Board, and Director of the White House Office of Management and Budget; and Andy Stern, President of the Service Employees International Union.
“This is a team well-suited to contribute to the task of rebuilding our fiscal responsibility. It combines proven business leadership, public policy expertise, and advocacy for the working Americans who are most directly affected by our federal entitlement programs. As both parties in Congress nominate their own members of the Commission, it is essential that they choose men and women who are ready to compromise and make the tough decisions our country’s fiscal future demands. Given the urgency of our mounting debt, no options can be taken off of the Commission’s table.”