Press Release ● Human and Civil Rights
For Immediate Release: 
February 12, 2008
Contact Info: 
Stacey Farnen Bernards
(202) 225 - 3130

WASHINGTON, DC - House Majority Leader Steny H. Hoyer (MD) joined over 100 Members of Congress in signing a bipartisan letter to President Hu Jintao of China, urging him to do more to end the conflict in Sudan and stop the Sudanese government's obstruction of peacekeeping and humanitarian efforts.  Hoyer released the following remarks today:
"We believe that China, as Sudan’s largest trading partner and benefactor, can and must exert its influence over General  Bashir’s government to stop the genocide in Darfur and, more specifically, to impress upon Sudan that it must honor its commitments to end its obstruction of the United Nations-African Union Mission in Darfur. 
"China must not turn a blind eye to the repression and actions of its close ally.  Nor should it stand in the way of efforts to hold Sudan accountable for the willful obstruction of UN Security Council Resolution 1789.  It is very important that the Chinese government knows that Members of Congress are very focused on the continuing tragedy in Darfur, and that we and the international community believe China is uniquely situated to exert its influence and help end the suffering."

Read the full text of the letter here.

100 Democrats and 20 Republicans signed the bipartisan letter to President Hu Jintao.  Below is a list of all the signatories (in alphabetical order):

Gary Ackerman, Tom Allen, Tammy Baldwin, Shelley Berkley, Howard Berman, Sanford Bishop, Tim Bishop, Earl Blumenauer, Leonard Boswell, Bob Brady, Mike Capuano, Christopher Carney, Steve Chabot, Yvette Clarke, Wm. Lacy Clay, Emanuel Cleaver, Jim Clyburn, Howard Coble, Steve Cohen, John Conyers, Joe Courtney, Elijah Cummings, Susan Davis, Peter DeFazio, Diana DeGette, Rosa DeLauro, Lloyd Doggett, Mike Doyle, Keith Ellison, Bob Filner, Virginia Foxx, Barney Frank, Trent Franks, Scott Garrett, Charlie Gonzales, Bob Goodlatte, Al Green, Gene Green, Phil Hare, Jane Harman, Alcee Hastings, Wally Herger, Brian Higgins, Paul Hodes, Rush Holt, Mike Honda, Darlene Hooley, Steny Hoyer, Bob Inglis, Sheila Jackson Lee, Stephanie Tubbs Jones, Patrick Kennedy, Dennis Kucinich, Ray LaHood, Jim Langevin, Barbara Lee, Sandy Levin, Frank LoBiondo, Dave Loebsack, Zoe Lofgren, Nita Lowey, Steve Lynch, Carolyn Maloney, Donald Manzullo, Ed Markey, Doris Matsui, Michael McCaul, Betty McCollum, Thaddeus McCotter, Jim McGovern, Jerry McNerney. Michael McNulty, Kendrick Meek, Michael Michaud, Brad Miller, George Miller, Harry Mitchell, Gwen Moore, Jerry Moran, Jim Moran, Chris Murphy, Jim Oberstar, John Olver, Bill Pascrell, Ed Pastor, Donald Payne, Collin Peterson, Joe Pitts, David Price, Dave Reichert, Ciro Rodriguez, Steve Rothman, Bobby Rush, Tim Ryan, Jim Saxton, Jan Schakowsky, Adam Schiff, Allyson Schwartz, James Sensenbrenner, Joe Sestak, Chris Shays, Heath Shuler, Albio Sires, Pete Stark, Betty Sutton, Ellen Tauscher, Mike Thompson, John Tierney, Chris Van Hollen, Peter Visclosky, Debbie Wasserman Schultz, Maxine Waters, Diane Watson, Mel Watt, Henry Waxman, Peter Welch, Frank Wolf, Lynn Woolsey, Albert Wynn, John Yarmuth