Press Release ● Congress
For Immediate Release: 
January 4, 2005
Contact Info: 
Stacey Farnen Bernards

WASHINGTON, DC – House Democratic Whip Steny Hoyer (MD) announced today that he has appointed Representatives John Tanner (TN) and Diana DeGette (CO) as Chief Deputy Whips, which makes them part of the Democratic Leadership and of the senior team of Democratic whips.

“I am very proud to announce that I have appointed Representatives John Tanner and Diana DeGette as Chief Deputy Whips.  They are two of the best Democratic Members serving in Congress today,” said Hoyer.

“It is critical to the success of the Whip organization and the Democratic caucus to have respected Blue Dog members in the top rungs of leadership,” continued Hoyer.  “John Tanner is widely respected both on and off the Hill, and is one of the most knowledgeable and politically in-tune House Democrats.  John will ensure that Blue Dogs have a seat at the table to shape legislation and strategy, and bring with him budget and tax policy expertise that is extremely relevant to the important issues this Congress will face.

“Representative DeGette did a very good job as Floor Whip and has earned the promotion to Chief Deputy.  Diana is an up and coming Democrat who is politically smart and dedicated to promoting common-sense legislative solutions.  Her involvement in the significant wins this past cycle in her home state demonstrates that she knows how to win in swing states and districts.

“Both new Chief Deputy Whips also bring with them a deep understanding of what it takes to win in the South and the West, two regions that Democrats must win in if we are to become a Majority Party.  John and Diana are ready to work on strategies to achieve this goal and have the desire and drive to make it happen,” concluded Hoyer.

Representative Tanner has served as a Senior Whip and Representative DeGette has served as Floor Whip since January 2003.

There are seven Chief Deputy Whips total, including Representative John Lewis (GA), who serves as the Senior Chief Deputy Whip.

Representatives Tanner and DeGette replace Representatives Max Sandlin (TX) and Baron Hill (IN) who are not returning to serve in the 109th Congress.