Press Release ● Miscellaneousfacebooktwitterbirdemail
For Immediate Release: 
August 6, 2012
Contact Info: 

Katie Grant, 202-225-3130

WASHINGTON, DC - House Democratic Whip Steny H. Hoyer (MD) announced today the winners of the 2012 Member Online All-Star Competition. See below for the final scoreboard.

“Congratulations to all of our All-Star Members, especially this year’s MVP Rep. Jared Polis (CO-02), on their success during House Democrats’ annual online competition. Over the course of three weeks, House Democrats acquired over 139,000 new Facebook fans, Twitter followers, and YouTube subscribers, which surpasses last year’s total by 82,000.

“Many of our Members posted impressive numbers including runner-up Bruce Braley (IA-01) with 12,904 new followers, Rep. Karen Bass (CA-33) with 12,879 new followers, and Rep. Loretta Sanchez (CA-47) with 9,862 new followers.  House Committee Democrats and Caucuses also participated in the competition, with the Congressional Black Caucus, the Congressional Asian Pacific American Caucus, the Oversight & Government Reform Committee, the Foreign Affairs Committee, and the Education & Workforce Committee being named All-Stars. 

“Thanks to the hard work of Members and their staff, this competition was a great success and House Democrats are connected with over 139,000 more Americans than we were just three weeks ago. While the competition has come to an end, Democrats will continue to make social media a priority so that we can engage with even more constituents online and get our message out across the country.”

Note: Members of Leadership, while participating in the competition, were not counted in determining All-Stars.

2012 Member All Stars: 19. John Lewis (GA05) 38. John Olver (MA01)
1. Jared Polis (CO02) 20.  Jackie Speier (CA12) 39. Janice Hahn (CA36)
2. Bruce Braley (IA01) 21. Brad Sherman (CA27) 40. Henry Cuellar (TX28)
3. Karen Bass (CA33) 22. Jim Matheson (UT02) 41. Lloyd Doggett  (TX25)
4. Loretta Sanchez (CA47) 23.  Adam Schiff (CA29) 42. Kurt Schrader (OR05)
5. James Moran (VA08) 24. David Price (NC04) 43. Nita Lowey (NY18)
6. Allyson Schwartz (PA13) 25. Corrine Brown (FL03) 44. Eleanor Holmes Norton
7. Ted Deutch (FL19) 26. Charles Rangel (NY15) 45. Chellie Pingree (ME01)
8. Keith Ellison (MN05) 27. Jim Himes (CT04) 46. Diana DeGette (CO01)
9. Chris Van Hollen (MD08) 28. Barney Frank (MA04) 47. George Miller (CA07)
10. Cedric Richmond (LA02) 29. Maxine Waters (CA35) 48. Mark Critz (PA12)
11. Paul Tonko (NY21) 30. Mike Quigley (IL05) 49. Howard Berman (CA28)
12. Barbara Lee (CA09) 31. James McGovern (MA03) 50. Jim McDermott (WA07)
13. Judy Chu (CA32) 32. Bill Pascrell (NJ08) 2012 Committee All-Stars:
14. Debbie Wasserman
Schultz (FL20)
33. Frank Pallone (NJ06) 1. Oversight & Government
Reform Committee
15. Luis Gutierrez (IL04) 34. Brian Higgins (NY27) 2. Foreign Affairs Committee
16. Marcia Fudge (OH11) 35. Michael Michaud (ME02) 3. Education & Worforce Committee
17. Doris Matsui (CA05) 36. Janice Schakowsky (IL09) 2012 Caucuses All-Stars
18. Dennis Kucinich (OH10) 37. Pedro Pierluisi (PR00) 1. Congressional Black
    2. Congressional Asian Pacific American Caucus