Press Release ● Miscellaneousfacebooktwitterbirdemail
For Immediate Release: 
October 19, 2011
Contact Info: 

Maureen Beach, 202-225-3130

WASHINGTON, DC - House Democratic Whip Steny H. Hoyer (MD) announced today the winners of the 2011 Member Online All-Star Competition. See below for the final scoreboard.

“Congratulations to Rep. Maxine Waters (CA-35) – this year's MVP – for gaining the most Facebook fans, Twitter followers, and YouTube subscribers as part of House Democrats' annual online competition. This year's competition was remarkable, with the leader changing multiple times over the course of the three week contest. I’d also like to note the other Members deserving special recognition, including Representatives Gabrielle Giffords, Keith Ellison, Charles Rangel, Jerrold Nadler, Adam Smith, and Ted Deutch, all of whom finished with over 1,000 new followers across the three social media platforms.

“House Committees and Caucuses also picked up a significant number of followers. The House Committees on Education and Workforce, Ways and Means, and Oversight and Government Reform were our top three committees gaining new followers, and the Congressional Progressive and Hispanic Caucuses also had impressive showings with a combined 1,000 new followers.

“Overall, the competition was a huge success, resulting in House Democrats acquiring over 57,000 new fans, followers, and subscribers during the three weeks of competition. That represents an enormous effort from all of our Members and surpasses last year’s total by more than 14,000. Congratulations to all Members and staff who participated and helped make this year’s competition such a success.”

Note: Members of Leadership, while participating in the competition, were not counted in determining All-Stars.
Member All-Stars:
1. Maxine Waters (CA35)
2. Gabrielle Giffords (AZ08)
3. Keith Ellison (MN05)
4. Charles Rangel (NY15)
5. Jerrold Nadler (NY08)
6. Adam Smith (WA09)
7. Ted Deutch (FL19)
8. Karen Bass (CA33)
9. Dennis Kucinich (OH10)
10. Terri Sewell (AL07)
11. Robert Andrews (NJ01)
12. Sam Farr (CA17)
13. Jared Polis (CO02)
14. John Lewis (GA05)
15. Peter DeFazio (OR04)
16. Luis Gutierrez (IL04)
17. Lynn Woolsey (CA06)
18. John Tierney (MA06)
19. Cedric Richmond (LA02)
20. Frank Pallone (NJ06)
21. Jackie Speier (CA12)
22. Donna Edwards (MD04)
23. Jason Altmire (PA04)
24. Lloyd Doggett (TX25)
25. John Yarmuth (KY03)
26. Pedro Pierluisi (PR00)
27. Niki Tsongas (MA05)
28. Janice Hahn (CA36)
29. Jan Schakowsky (385)
30. Barbara Lee (CA09)
31. Kurt Schrader (OR05)
32. Doris  Matsui (CA05)
33. Michael Michaud (ME02)
34. Brian Higgins (NY27)
35. Jim McDermott (WA07)
36. Nydia Velazquez (NY12)
37. Linda Sanchez (CA39)
38. Diana DeGette (CO01)
39. James McGovern (MA03)
40. Jay Inslee (WA01)
41. Eleanor Holmes Norton (DC00)
42. Henry Cuellar (TX28)
43. Ben Lujan (NM03)
44. Mazie Hirono (HI02)
45. Edward Markey (MA07)
46. Sander Levin (MI12)
47. John Conyers (MI14)
48. Chris Van Hollen (MD08)
49. Raul Grijalva (AZ07)
50. Shelia Jackson-Lee (TX18)
Committee All-Stars:
1. Education & Workforce
2. Ways and Means
3. Oversight & Government Reform